“I’ve been in these clothes for two days now. I haven’t had a shower. I feel awful.”

Where will all this torture end? It doesn’t bear thinking about.

Scope's Blog

Guest post by Kirsty, who lives alone and needs support to get up, wash and dress, and leave the house. She uses a wheelchair. Her social care was cut by 50 hours a week, leaving her in huge difficulties. She has asked for her name to be changed to protect her identity.

I’ve been wearing these clothes for two days now. I haven’t had a shower. My hair isn’t tied back and I can’t do it myself. I feel awful. If I can’t find care tomorrow, that will be my third day in the same clothes.

For over 10 years, I was entitled to nearly 80 hours a week of care for getting up, showered and dressed, going about my daily life, and doing social activities. I also had an on-call service at night in case I needed the toilet.

Then I received a letter out of the blue telling…

View original post 528 more words

Leave a Reply

